top of page
1506293_581773328570034_1287773235_o (1)

JAMES MEMORIAL PUBLIC LIBRARY

knowledge-1052014-1280-1_orig.jpg

BOOK CLUB

Open to All 

53369488.jpg

Book Club will be meeting on the first Thursday of every month at 10 a.m. 

The next book is "How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House" by Cherie Jones.

"A debut novel in the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, from a brilliant Caribbean writer, set in Barbados, about four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise."

In Baxter Beach, Barbados, moneyed ex-pats clash with the locals who often end up serving them: braiding their hair, minding their children, and selling them drugs. Lala lives on the beach with her husband, Adan, a petty criminal with endless charisma whose thwarted burglary of one of the Baxter Beach mansions sets off a chain of events with terrible consequences. A gunshot no one was meant to witness. A new mother whose baby is found lifeless on the beach. A woman torn between two worlds and incapacitated by grief. And two men driven by desperation and greed who attempt a crime that will risk their freedom -- and their lives." -- Goodreads.com

If you have any questions, please contact the library at 573-265-7211.

All book club books for 2023 can be found here.

"Open" Sign

We're open!!!!!

 

HOURS OF OPERATION

Sunday:  Closed 

Monday:  8 am to 5 pm

Tuesday:  8 am to 5 pm

Wednesday:  8 am to 5 pm 

Thursday: 8 am to 6 pm

Friday:  8 am to 6 pm 

Saturday:  10 am to 2 pm

Used Books

CARD CATALOG

Click or tap below to be redirected to our online card catalog!

NEW RELEASES

Something for Everyone

We are constantly updating the titles in our New Releases, taking into account recommendations from staff and our community of readers. Explore and discover your next great read from this collection.  Our New Book List is published monthly on our blog.  Click or tap here to visit our Blog page! 

Colorful Book Spines
bottom of page